How Do You Build Trust?

Building trust is essential for effective relationships. Without trust, relationships fail. Friendships, family, and business relationships cannot endure for the long term if there is no trust. The transmission of knowledge and skill in the classroom cannot take place effectively if trust is not built in the classroom. Trust takes time to develop. Trust is built in small steps.
Simon Sinek, author of Leaders Eat Last, is featured in a short Youtube clip explaining the importance of building trustworthy relationships (https://youtu.be/lwuouSVtWAE). Sinek emphasizes that trust must be a priority, and it takes courageous leadership. It is often difficult to measure success, but it certainly can be measured if there is a lack of trust in any relationship.
How can I build trust? First and foremost, I must walk the talk. I must do what I say I will do. I must practice what I preach.
Secondly, I need to communicate with clarity, and no duplicity. Students are experts in detecting a hypocrite without really trying. Most students can detect what is fair and what is not fair in seconds. Effective communication skills are a must in building trustworthy relationships.
As I’ve already indicated, trust is build in small steps, one interaction at a time. Trust can be lost in a moment, and certainly this is true if there is no history of trust in a relationship. Forgiveness can be readily given if there is a history of trust.
If I want to build trust with my students, parents, family members, and the community, I must value the long term outlook of my relationships. I’m accountable to the people I value. If I value them, I will build up that trust over the long haul. The trust that I’m generating through my interactions, there will be greater commitment to the relationship that I’m attempting to build. There will be a greater commitment between the groups I work with.
Trust is a key priority and goal of mine, but it also can be an outcome to the lifestyle I’m trying to live. If I value my relationships, I will live up to the ideals of being a trustworthy person.
In today’s global / digital economy, trust has far reaching consequences if it is destroyed. Trust is sought after by all parties, and it must be protected with the many temptations to violate privacy and personal identity.
As I reflect on this five letter word, could it be just as important to teach as any curriculum? Could it be more valuable than any test score? Could it be the most valuable employability skill?

Leave a comment

Filed under Classroom Activities

Leave a Reply

