A Connecticut Winter

The following is an excerpt from an article at Q Ideas for the Common Good, by Rebeccah Lyons. The entire article can be read here.

“Friday will be a day forever embedded in the hearts of parents around America. We’ll look back years from now and remember where we were when we heard the news: twenty children shot dead in a charming Connecticut elementary school. My typical attention deficit self stopped and checked twitter in the midst of a Q editorial meeting and I cried out in knee-jerk reaction—loud and desperate, unable to contain my horror.”

“There are no words for this devastation, the tears so loud I can almost hear them ringing out as friends on Facebook and Twitter post their visceral response. I tried with all my might to re-engage our meeting in midtown Manhattan, to no avail. My dam of resolve caved to a pool of tears for the next few hours as I hit refresh on every news tab I could open. Nausea hit, a gut wrenching sickness that only comes from witnessing something so tangible. I felt as if I was standing right there.”

“So we faithfully proceed: hoping, praying, comforting, mourning, seeking and obeying God’s will as we prepare our hearts and our world for the coming King. In so doing, we bring light into the darkness and God’s kingdom bursts through. Even now, even here.”

Rebekah Lyons is the author of the forthcoming Freefall to Fly: A Breathtaking Journey Toward a Life of Meaning. You can find Rebekah on Twitter and Facebook.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

