2012 Motivators

It’s tough to get motivated in 2012. I always have a slump after the Christmas break. My old routines of discipline and usual motivators take a hit. But once I realize that I’m looking at myself, instead of the higher priorities, I begin to focus again.

The best reads I’ve come across in a long time to regenerate my battery is “Because He loves Me” by Elyse Fitzpatrick and “Jesus Plus Nothing Equals Everything” by Tullian Tchvidjian. Great books to refocus my inner life. I need to stop measuring myself by others and stop creating a checklist to live by. If I have my inner life focused properly, my behavior and attitude will reflect that.
The following are few motivators:

The example of Tim Tebow is refreshing, emphasizing the practical side of what is really happening in one’s heart. Rick Riley’s article confirms my thoughts, despite the criticism by other reporters (http://espn.go.com/espn/story/_/id/7455943/believing-tim-tebow).

The examples of each of my sons. They each have walked through deep valleys with dark clouds, yet they each have kept the faith, and remain committed to helping others find their way in life. They truly are inspiring to me.

The examples of so many who are making a profound difference in life. The individuals working together for groups similar to “Tiny Hands,” “Clarity Water”, or Caravan of Hope are true motivators for me. I want to encourage my students to not only consider high goals in academics and career choices, but in their volunteer efforts.

Seth Godin’s blog (http://sethgodin.typepad.com/) is refreshing, emphasizing a refocusing of priorities. Reflecting on the TED conferences, he emphasizes:
1. Be interested.
2. Be generous.
3. Be interesting.
4. Connect.
I want to practice these four imperatives with the people in my daily life.

From (@TeachersJourney) (1/14/12 1:40 PM)
“Effective teaching involves a highly distinctive set of human interactions and skills that are not measurable by multiple choice tests.”

From @sanderssays (Tim Sanders)
“The quality [of persistence] is to the character of man what carbon is to steel.” -Napoleon Hill

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

