What’s My Attitude Toward Learning?

The following is adapted from Stand Again, a blogsite for Anastasia Academy. You can read the entire blog here (http://standagain.wordpress.com/2011/09/06/is-learning-an-attitude/).

“What did you learn in school today?”

“This is a great question. It helps sort through the activities of the day and rework some information in a student’s head. Asking this question can start a good conversation that eventually takes the mind down some other cerebral pathways on a journey of scaffolding. Learning is linked to previous experience and knowledge; good questions cause us to go further. Why do we stop asking the question as adults? Who is asking us what we learned in life today?”

To go even further, what am I learning? As a teacher, school counselor, or as a regular every day person, what am I learning? I often get into the habit of just making it through the day, meeting the daily obligations, or taking care of details, without much reflection on how it all applies to me. What am I learning? How am I changing? How are my experiences making a difference in my life, or in those I work with or live with?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

